Best. Husband. Ever.

The mokus has not killed anyone yet! I promise 🙂 We’re still dealing with it’s lingering after-effects, but the worst of it seems to have passed on through.

Total number of days spent laying down watching mindless TV: 12 (split almost evenly amongst 4 members of the household…the Spouse being the lone dissenter)

Don’t know what it is about the Spouse, he either has a far superior immune system or the mokus germs are just scared of him. For whatever reason, he doesn’t seem to catch what we do to the severity that we do. Maybe it’s the beer. He’s the only one drinking it now. Hm…

ANYWAY, I like to exercise positive reinforcement whenever possible, so let me tell you the Spouse came up big this weekend. I am currently rehearsing for a theater performance and had rehearsal both days this weekend. Mads was down for the count, the boy had soccer, and life has kind of kicked in to high gear for all of us. Well, both days this weekend, my husband (without me asking) took care of dinner AND the dishes … leaving me to just come home, eat, and relax. I’m sure not even he knows how very much that meant to me.

I think I may be rubbing off on him because yesterday morning he awoke knowing what he was going to make for dinner. Of course it being football season probably had something to do with it, because he wanted chili. PERFECT! I told him which packets I usually got from the grocery store spice aisle, and left him to it. So when I got home, on the stove was a big pot of wonderful warm chili, and he had even laid out some accompanying condiments like corn tortilla chips, shredded cheese, and sour cream. YUM.

I spooned up a bowl for myself, and noticed that it was chock full of onions, garlic, bell peppers, tomatoes, two kinds of beans, and of course some of our delicious grass-fed ground beef. This was some seriously thick and rich chili, and absolutely delicious all dressed up. Right before I took a bite, my crafty husband drops this little gem on me…”I was going to use the packets like you told me, but when I read the ingredients I noted they had wheat in them, so I used the spices we already had on hand.”

Wait, what? Not only did he make dinner, he READ THE LABELS FOR WHEAT? Total winner spouse. And sure enough, I spooned that chili up and found it to be spicy (but not screamingly hot) from chili powder, and I tasted that warm smoky flavor from paprika and cumin, and an herby deliciousness from some oregano and coriander. I’m guessing at what he used, there may have been a few other things in there too, but he’s not giving away his secrets.

And he doesn’t have to… as long as he’s willing to make it again sometime.

Thanks Spouse, the chili was super good. Truth be told, it was even better than the packets! More importantly, the time I got to spend just sitting and eating it with you made the evening perfect. You obviously went to a lot of effort and I wanted you to know how much I appreciate it, and you.

Best. Husband. Ever.

Leave a Reply

