When I’m sick, I want soup

Image

And the verdict is in… I’ve apparently kicked whatever started this mess, however I am now dealing with the aftermath.  This hurricane of germs has left me with two wrecked and infected ears.  

No wonder I can’t hear so good!  Also explains my balance being worse than normal…and normal wasn’t so hot to start with.

I needed to eat to take the medicine prescribed to me, and I wanted comforting, so I decided to whip up some soup.  I took a look at what I had in the pantry, and decided on a chowder.  It rained like the dickens here today, and I was being all pitiful, so I wanted comforting. 

I had potato, and celery, and a few fresh ears of corn.  I had bacon, onion, and garlic.  I needed half and half, so that meant a call to the spouse to pick up a quart on the way home.  He did, and forever became my hero.

So here’s the recipe that became dinner:

1 tablespoon butter

1/4 pound bacon, diced

1/2 large onion, diced

3/4 cup celery, diced

3/4 cup carrot, diced

1/2 cup diced red bell pepper

Kosher salt and black pepper

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tablespoons corn starch 

4 cups chicken broth or stock

4 cups cubed potato

2 cups corn kernels

2 cups half and half

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme

pinch of cayenne pepper if desired

fresh parsley

 Melt the butter in a dutch oven and add the bacon, cooking until crisp.  Spoon the bacon bits out and drain on a towel.  My bacon was SUPER lean, but if yours isn’t, dump out all the bacon fat except about 1/4 of a cup.  Add the onion, celery, carrots, and peppers with a little salt and pepper and cook until the veggies start to soften.  The carrots will take a while, so don’t sweat it if they aren’t as soft as the rest.  Throw in the garlic and cook for 1 minute more.. don’t burn the garlic!  Add the corn starch (Or flour for those of you OK with the gluten) and stir around to cook out the raw starch flavor.  Now add the chicken broth and potatoes and give a stir.  Raise the heat slightly, cover, and simmer for 10-15 minutes until the potatoes are tender.  Add the corn and cook another 5-6 minutes to allow flavors to meld.  Remove from heat and stir in the half and half.  Season with thyme, a pinch of cayenne, salt, and freshly ground black pepper.  Just before serving, top with the parsley and reserved bacon bits, stir once more, and ladle into bowls.  

YUM.

I had been fortunate enough to roast some cauliflower today too.  Fresh florets tossed with olive oil, kosher salt, cumin, and turmeric, and then roasted in a 400 degree oven until crisp-tender.  I took a few of those florets and floated them on the top of my chowder.  Delicious, and completely comforting.

Exactly what a sick girl needs to feel better.

Leave a Reply

