What is this Paleo Challenge of which you speak?

Still sick, by the way. Someone obviously poured Rice Krispies in my ear canals and then filled them with milk, because my ears are clogged and I hear popping and cracking…

And ringing. OY the ringing!

However, today I have had no fever, so I am getting better, albeit slowly. If the ears would open up, and if I could stay awake for more than 6 hours, I’d dance a jig (not for 6 hours straight, because then I’d really be tired).

So I haven’t exactly been paying attention to food the past three days. I’ve barely gotten out of my bed due to this funk that I’m fighting off. I have relied upon my husband and children to bring me stuff to eat, and as long as it hasn’t been wheat, I’ve eaten it. Which means I’ve eaten ice cream, and chips and salsa, and french fries, and queso dip.

OH! And Chipotle. Vegetarian Chipotle, because they forgot the chicken… but yeah. So not exactly the healthiest diet, but since I’m not really eating much, and I’m spending most of my energy drinking fluids, I don’t really care.

So, coming up on September 17 (Stretch’s birthday!) there’s a new 30 Day Paleo Challenge being kicked off, and quite frankly, I CANNOT WAIT. I did a Paleo Challenge in January and honestly, I felt great. I kicked caffeine, I was sleeping better, I lost weight, my mood was elevated, and all that.

So why did I quit? Well, I didn’t exactly QUIT, but I did expand my diet some to take in some of spring and summer’s best foods (hello, ice cream!), and some indulgences of my own like Captain Morgan and Diet Coke (what? I’m only human). So while I didn’t abandon the plan, I definitely didn’t hold tight to the rules like I could have. Besides, I LIKE the challenge idea…I like a finite time frame just to see if I can do it. I like proving to myself what I can do. So starting on September 17th, I’m going to be proving it again.

The challenge is being issued by the good folks at Lurong Living, in partnership with the oodles of CrossFit gyms across the nation. But since I’m a FOOD blogger and not a workout/sweat blogger (can you even IMAGINE?) I’m going to concentrate on the food and sleep part of the challenge.

There are TONS of sites out there that can break the Paleo Plan down for you… but let me make it easy for you. Here’s what you WON’T be eating:
Grains
Dairy
Beans/Legumes/Soy (this includes peanuts, folks)
Caffeine
Artificial sweeteners
“vegetable” oil
chocolate

Ok, ok, try not to freak out at that last one. It’s THIRTY DAYS. You can do it for thirty days.

Here’s what you will be eating:
Meat (preferably grass-fed, or pasture raised)
Eggs (see above)
Vegetables
Fruits
Nuts
Seeds
Coconut oil, olive oil, avocado oil
Tea/coffee

You’ll also be required to get at least 8 hours of sleep a night. That means turn OFF the TV, the laptop, the smartphone… just turn it off and go to sleep. Give your body a chance to reset, recharge, renew… seriously, you’ll be amazed at how much better you feel. And if you can throw in a workout or twelve in that time, go for it!

September 17 to November 18, 2012. Just do it. If you need help, there’s none better than Neely over at The Paleo Plan.

Change your plate, change your plan, change your life. YOU can do it. Start planning NOW and be ready for action. Who’s with me?

2 thoughts on “What is this Paleo Challenge of which you speak?

  1. I am going to try the Paleo challenge…question: coffee…what do you use instead of dairy or soy milk? I might have a hard time drinking it black.

    • WOO HOO! Welcome aboard. I use almond milk, or coconut milk, or a blend of both! Most stores have these blends in refrigerator case right next to the soymilk. I try to pick the unflavored ones, or the vanilla with the lowest amount of calories (that’s what my kids prefer).

Leave a Reply

