My “to-do” and now feeling like “doo-doo”

This is going to be a short one, due to the fact that I have been sneezing my head off all weekend, and today my nose decided to act like a faucet, and bring friends (body aches, a headache, etc.) to the party.

Be that as it may, I had some very definite food “to-do” items on my list for this weekend and thankfully I got them all done. Of course I got my marketing done, and got okra and eggplant breaded, and frozen for future dinners. Today I tackled three zones of my house that really needed some attention: The pantry, the freezer attached to my fridge, and the stand up freezer in the garage. I think I may have shared that our house normally has TWO stand up freezers outside. One holds meat, cheeses and other dairy items, my pre-made and frozen meals, and my small stash of gluten free bread. The other holds fruit, veggies, herbs, and the very few “convenience” foods my kids eat (corn dogs from Trader Joes, frozen waffles, etc.). Well, while we were on vacation, my fruit and veggie freezer decided to give up the ghost. Luckily my mother in law discovered this quickly, and transferred all my bounty to the still functioning freezer. However I needed to re-organize the freezer to make it more family friendly. My family won’t get me anything out of my freezer unless they can easily find it. Now, hopefully, they can. A couple things I discovered that I don’t need to buy for quite a while: chicken, green beans, and tomato sauce. I may have to figure out some new and exciting ways to cook green beans, or else my kids may mutiny!

The pantry was awful. It looked like a BOMB had gone off in there, so I pulled everything out and then re-organized. I made an entire shelf for my kids, holding things like their peanut butter, fruit leathers, popcorn, tortilla and corn chips, seaweed snacks, and granola bars. I also set aside a section for my stash of gluten-free items (like my dark chocolate, and my pretzels!). Oh I know it won’t last, but for now it’s nice to be able to look in and see what I have, and what I need. I need peanut butter… I don’t need mustard or salad dressing for a while. And I have about EIGHT different kinds of vinegar.

The spice cabinet got the same treatment, and the freezer below the fridge. I know that most of you probably would find a different way to spend Sunday, but having organized, clean, food spaces free from any expired or “mystery” packages really makes me feel accomplished. The easier I can find things to make, the more likely I am to actually MAKE them!

So now it’s the start of a new work week, and if I can get this allergy, or cold, or whatever it is under control, I am planning on having a very productive week. Hope you all had a very happy weekend and that your week brings tons of good things your way.

Oh and if you have any interesting ideas for what to do with green beans…. let me know.

20120819-235639.jpg

2 thoughts on “My “to-do” and now feeling like “doo-doo”

  1. This is a favorite with green beans at our house…

    Green Bean and Red Potato Salad Recipe
    Ingredients:

    1 pound green beans, cut to about 2 inches in length
    6 or 8, small to medium sized red potatoes
    1 small red onion, diced
    4 tablespoons of olive oil
    2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar
    ½ teaspoon dried oregano, or 2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano
    salt and pepper to taste

    Directions:
    Boil green beans until tender crisp. Boil potatoes until tender.
    Remove peel, if desired and then cut the potatoes into small cubes.
    Place the green beans and potato cubes into a bowl.
    Add the remaining ingredients, and toss well.

Leave a Reply

