Vacation Food

Image

First things first – I have no idea how the interview went really.  The interview process in the Federal Government is a very one way thing.  The person being interviewed does all the talking, and the board just listens.  Very disconcerting.  I’ll let y’all know when I do.

However, in MUCH happier news, I am now on vacation.  The family is heading south to spend a week at our timeshare.  I will be visiting the local farmer’s markets and getting some good food to stock in the kitchen at the condo.  You can bet I will be searching out the freshest in vegetables, fruits, cage free eggs, and more!  I know it may sound silly, but I like cooking when on vacation.  First off it saves us money, and secondly, on vacation I have the opportunity to plan out my meals, and whip up a little something special.  I hope we’ll have a grill too, because nothing is better for summer vacation than grilled meat and fresh vegetables.  I’ll be packing a cooler with some stuff from my kitchen at home.

One of the most flavorful ways I have found to dress up grilled chicken breasts is to buy the breasts with the bone in and the skin on.  Then I mix up a seasoning mix or a compound butter and rub the flavor under the skin.  I’m all about tomatoes right now, and I have some sun dried cherry tomatoes in olive oil.  Those tomatoes (with a little bit of that flavored oil) and some finely chopped basil will make a superb flavoring for that chicken.  

Image

I have some compound butters that I made up with fresh herbs.  They’ve been chilling in my freezer.  One of my favorites is what I call “Greek Chicken” – it’s Greek Oregano, minced garlic, and lemon zest.  Another one is “Sunday Roast Chicken” – chopped rosemary and lemon zest.  I think I will HAVE to use the Greek butter and add some tzatziki on the side for one evening!  If you want to try your hand at compound butters, my main man Alton Brown has a recipe here.  Compound butters are easy to make, you can use whatever flavors you want, and they are SO PRETTY!

Image

A delicious way to use compound butter is with a hot “baked” potato off the grill, or by letting a wheel of herbaceous, garlicky deliciousness melt over a freshly grilled steak.  I’ve even done a compound butter with Old Bay seasoning as my “go to” butter for corn on the cob.  

Summertime, and the flavoring is easy!  

Leave a Reply

